When purchasing auto insurance in Oregon, you should be aware of several legal requirements that dictate the minimum amount and levels of auto insurance coverage for the state. Compare auto insurance quotes and policies and ask about discounts to make sure you are getting the best value in Oregon. The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles and Insurance Department require that at a minimum, your auto insurance policy should provide you with coverage for liability from bodily and property damage. The minimum coverages in the state and limits are Bodily Injury Liability Coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, Property Damage Liability Coverage of $20,000 per accident, Personal Injury Protection Liability Coverage of $15,000 per person, and Uninsured Motorist Coverage Bodily Injury Liability Coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Keep in mind that these are the bare minimum.
Failure to provide this proof to a police officer may result in a fine, license suspension, and even vehicle confiscation in certain areas. It is generally advisable to have other types of car insurance coverage to protect yourself from the various liabilities that can arise from an automobile accident. Compare quotes from different auto insurance companies, policies, and exclusions to help you decide what kinds of additional coverage you want to protect yourself from. The average cost of car insurance in Oregon is $1,387 according to Insure.